Healthy Curried Tuna Salad

Standard

Tuna salad is my go to lunch when we don’t have leftovers from dinner.  The key ingredient in making canned tuna tasty?  I think many would quickly said mayonnaise.  I know I would have a few months ago.  Mayonnaise has loads of preservatives that makes an otherwise healthy lunch choice…not healthy.  Awhile ago, I found a recipe from Pinterest and skeptically tried to make tuna salad without mayo.  Surprisingly, I really enjoyed the tuna salad and have eaten it this way a number of times since.  Now when I add mayo into my tuna salad it tastes too heavy.  The avocado and the oil in the recipe add the moisture and creaminess that the tuna salad usually gets from mayo.

Ingredients:

1 can tuna
1 avocado
1 T grapeseed oil (or olive oil)
1 t yellow curry powder
1 pear chopped
1/2 onion finely chopped
1 T slivered almonds
Handful of cilantro (or other herbs), roughly chopped
Salt & Pepper to taste
**Have fun adding other herbs, veggies, fruit, even cheese to your tuna.  Get creative!**

Preparation:

Mix all together. Serve cold.  I often enjoy mine over lettuce or on cucumber slices.

–Adapted from: http://www.health-bent.com/

Leave a comment